Wednesday, February 12, 2014

All AP MPS in well of Lok Sabha

All AP MPS in well of Lok Sabha

New Delhi: It was not just the six expelled Congress MPs who trooped into the Well of the House, but almost all of the 42, excepting cabinet minister S.Jaipal Reddy and minister of state Pallam Raju. Both the Seemandhra and Telangana members were standing in the well. Most of the Seemandhra MPs were shouting themselves hoarse, while others like K.Bapiraju stood in front of the Speaker’s chair and held up a placard which said in bold red letters, “Save Democracy, Save Andhra Pradesh.”

There was momentary tension when a Telangana MP, Dr Jagannatham had an argument with an Andhra counterpart of his when his Telangana colleague Madhu Goud Yaski pulled him back. The Telangana MPs stood silently though some of them initially shouted "Jai Telangana".

Congress president Sonia Gandhi who used to sit in the third seat after that of prime minister Manmohan Singh and leader of House and home minister Sushil Kumar Shinde has now shifted to the fourth and parliamentary affairs minister Kamal Nath sat on the third seat.

Gandhi was seen strongly questioning Andhra MP and minister Kavuri Sambasiva Rao as to why he was coming to the front with a placard in his hand. Rao’s response was a sheepish silence. Others Andhra ministers who stood in front of the front rows and not exactly in the well of the House were film star and minister for tourism K. Chiranjeevi and minister of state in human resources Purandeereswari, daughter of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) founder N.T.Rama Rao.

As railway minister Mallikarjun Kharge read the interim rail budget speech, members from Orissa and West Bengal and Tamil Nadu also surged forward protesting that no new trains were announced for their regions, and one of the Andhra MPs, Lagadabati Rajagopal, was seen asking them to come forward and join the protest.

No comments:

Sense of the mandate

Congress and the BJP can never hope to dominate Karnataka Forming the government after an election is a necessary part of the democ...